Trial Run at the hospital

Today at noon the hospital had a trial run. I was so surprised how detailed the team discussed how everything was going to work. They have everything ready, from the beds for the babies to which rooms they are going to use. I greatly appreciate the hospital for being so excited to help our family! You have to think when the doctors and managers manage to get together and actually discuss what they think is best, you have a great team!  Starting next week the NICU is going to start clearing out a pod (which is a section for 6 babies) to be ready at any time just for our fabulous five.

In delivery there is going to be me and D and E babies. Then the room right down the hall (is about 10 steps) is going to have A, B, and C. All together there will be about 25 people in the two rooms. I asked the doctor during the trial run if she would be willing to let me go natural and she pause for just a second, then no we cant do that. Too risky. Which I agree but I would still rather go natural vs c section. Just the unknown and the surgery itself.

Happy 25 weeks! I made it this far lets see if we can make it another 3 weeks at least!

Thank you to everyone at the hospital that took the time to get together today!

About quintsofkentuckiana

Hello and Welcome to the Kessinger-Clark Family! My name is Christy and my wonderful husbands name is Bill. We currently have three children. Ty is 9 yrs old, Tayleigh is 5 yrs old, and Tanner is 2 yrs old. Tanner has Down Syndrome but is the light of our family! My husband works as a IT network administrator and I quit working as a HR Manager when Tanner was 6 months old due to him being the hospital so many times. We decided to have just one more child but found out we are expecting QUINTUPLETS. No we did not do invetro or see an RE doctor. I had my IUD taken out, took some medication that was herbal and over the counter, and medicine for enlarged ovaries. But the medication was at the lowest doseage. Now we are trying to figure out how we are going to manage such a large family!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trial Run at the hospital

  1. Nina says:

    Sounds as if you are in one fantastic facility! Not only do they seem very organized but also very caring. Who could ask for more from a medical team/facility.

  2. abrown925 says:

    aww. I am sorry that they wouldn’t even entertain the thought. If it is something you want to try, you could ask to deliver in the OR with an epidural in place just in case?

    I am also a person who really likes to know ahead of time what is going to happen. Too bad they don’t have adjoining rooms so you could all be closer, but you will have plenty of time for that!!

    How exciting. I am praying those nuggets stay safe and sound until they are ready!

  3. Gwen Alkhoury says:

    Yeah, 25 weeks!!!!!! Way to go mama! Now all you have to do is grow those babies bigger so they can spend less time in the NICU.
    Don’t worry about the C-section. I’ve had two and the recoveries have not been bad at all. I tell people that I feel like I got to have my babies without having babies. I have heard with twins they might let you deliver naturally if they are positioned just right. Any more than twins and you can forget it. It is just too much risk. After having two, I can definitely say having the c-section is worth reducing the risk for you little ones. I was worried because one of the perinatologist wanted to give me a traditional c-section(up and down) instead of the bikini(low and accross) with the triplets, and lucklily she wasn’t there that day. I have heard the traditional has a longer recovery time, something you don’t need when you are trying to care for 5 babies. You might want to have that conversation with your docs.
    I also got preeclampsia and had to have magnesium sulfate for 24 hours after the delivery of the triplets. I really hope you don’t have to take that. I was so loopy, unstable and nausiated I had to be wheeled down to the NICU to see the babies the next day and was too week to hold them. It was the biggest bummer of the post delivery experience. With my first daughter, I didn’t have to take the magnesium and was almost sprinting down the hall even with the c-section.

  4. Tami says:

    Happy 25 weeks! What an awesome hospital you have. I had all 3 of my babies are CMH and it was amazing there. I have had 3 c-sections before and they are not bad.

  5. Linda Blackburn says:

    How exciting! I am enjoying reading your posts and have been praying for you, your family and the babies. We don’t know each other but that’s ok, God knows you!

  6. Sarah says:

    YEAH!! Good news 🙂 25 weeks is awesome. Every minute counts and you are doing a fantastic job! I hope your kids are having a good vacation and Tanner is feeling better. Still keeping you in my prayers and wishing you (and the whole family) the best 🙂

  7. JESSICA says:

    AWESOME!!! I am so happy for you. I keep up with you every couple of days. Wishing you lots of luck!!

Leave a Reply

