Our Family is Back

After a few days of rest I feel like a new woman. I still can’t do much but at least I don’t get woke up every couple of hours to take my blood pressure. The babies are 10 days old today.

Update on Babies:

Maggie: She is the most stable and has tried to come off of oxygen. She was off for almost 12 hours and then went back to room air. We are proud of her doing so well.  She weighs 2lbs 8 ounces now and feeds 6cc every four hours. She opens her eyes the most.

Easton: His heart is enlarged just a little, has a PDA, and his left ventricles acts funny some times. This is nothing that the doctors are going to treat since it is so mild. He weighs 2lbs and 10 ounces now. He just started eating with 1cc every 4hours. He is on room air.

Hartley: She has had two brady events today (where they stop breathing and the nurse has to touch her to get her to start again) which is every common for preemies. I hate that she has had two in one day. She weighs 2lbs 6 ounces now. She is eating 6cc every 4 hours. She wont be the runt of the bunch for long with eating that much! She is on room air.

Allie-She is off the billie lights for jaundice (she has been going back and forth each day) She weighs 2lbs 6 ounces. She eats 3cc every 3 hours.

Ella-She failed her newborn screening so we have to get this retested. The doctors think they didn’t get enough specimen. No big deal. She weighs 2lbs 9ounces and eats 3cc every 3 hours.

Overall these are minor issues that will fix themselves over time. The doctor thinks Hartley, Allie, and Ella are identical. We will get the results in about 3 weeks. Which is why we only saw twins, then triplets, then quads, then quints in the ultrasound.

Well that is all for now!

About quintsofkentuckiana

Hello and Welcome to the Kessinger-Clark Family! My name is Christy and my wonderful husbands name is Bill. We currently have three children. Ty is 9 yrs old, Tayleigh is 5 yrs old, and Tanner is 2 yrs old. Tanner has Down Syndrome but is the light of our family! My husband works as a IT network administrator and I quit working as a HR Manager when Tanner was 6 months old due to him being the hospital so many times. We decided to have just one more child but found out we are expecting QUINTUPLETS. No we did not do invetro or see an RE doctor. I had my IUD taken out, took some medication that was herbal and over the counter, and medicine for enlarged ovaries. But the medication was at the lowest doseage. Now we are trying to figure out how we are going to manage such a large family!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our Family is Back

  1. Linda Blackburn says:

    Thank you for the wonderful update! I really enjoyed hearing about how you are and how all your babies are doing! Wow, how neat that maybe three of them are identical!

  2. Gwen Alkhoury says:

    I’ve been thinking about you guys and wondering how everyone is doing. Thanks for sending an update. I am glad the babies are only having minor “to be expected” preemie problems. I bet your family is really enjoying bonding with the new family members. That is so cool you may have a set of indentical triplets in your quints. That has got to be really rare.

  3. jennifer rogers says:

    I don’t know ya’ll personally but I’m rooting for the quints! What a wonderfully unexpected blessing! It’s just amazing that they are all so healthy! God Bless!

  4. Tina Sample says:

    It’s awesome to hear how the babies are doing so well! Hopefully all the little details will work out as they grow and get stronger! Keep getting your rest and let me know if I can do anything!

  5. Sarah says:

    SoOOOOO happy for you all 🙂 This is terrific, fantastic news. I will continue to pray for your recovery and for the wonderful, beautiful babies. Hang in there and hope Ty, Tayleigh and Tanner are doing good 🙂

  6. Beth says:

    I’ve been following your story since it appeared in The Tribune back in June. So happy to hear you and the babies are doing well, and I hope your husband and three children at home are well also. Wishing you the best!

  7. Krista williams says:

    So happy for you all, such great news and an AWESOME GOD!!!! Hope to see you soon. When you are up to it let’s do lunch one day sice I now have ALL my kids at school ALL DAY!!! Please let me know what you still need. I am working on some things so I need to know please:)

  8. Linda says:

    Christy, thank you so much for the update. Glad to hear that you a doing so well, I had three c-sections myself and I know that they are no picnic. I am so glad to hear that the babies are doing so well. I am praying for you all. Hope the other little ones are doing well, I know that it must be hectic with school starting. I know that you do not know me but the offer still stands if you need any help with getting children to school or whatever and when the babies come home I can help whenever. We live in Jeff, am retired, have children and grandchildren and have been married for years.

Leave a Reply

